twitter
facebook
facebook

Asteroid mining

Written by Ashwin Rattan Tuesday, 22 January 2013 13:59
Rate this item
(1 vote)

From yahoo

 

A new asteroid-mining company launches Tuesday with the goal of helping humanity expand across the solar system by tapping the vast riches of space rocks.

 

The new firm, called Deep Space Industries, Inc., announced today (Jan. 22) that it plans to launch a fleet of prospecting spacecraft in 2015, then begin harvesting metals and water from near-Earth asteroids within a decade or so.

 

Such work could make it possible to build and refuel spacecraft far above our planet's surface, thus helping our species get a foothold in the final frontier.

 

"Using resources harvested in space is the only way to afford permanent space development," Deep Space CEO David Gump said in a statement. Deep Space Industries will hold a press conference today in Santa Monica, Calif., at 10 a.m. PST (1 p.m. EST/1800 GMT) to unveil more details of its bold mission plan.

 

To read the full article goto:

 

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/asteroid-mining-project-aims-deep-space-colonies-050627126.html

 

And to find out more about the new space investment report, click here

Last modified on Tuesday, 22 January 2013 14:05

Add comment


Search

// Wibiya toolbar